Understand the Basics of Diamond Clarity

Understand the Basics of Diamond Clarity

When it comes to diamonds, it’s understandable that you may want a ‘flawless’ one. However, there’s a lot more to diamonds than meets the eye with a lot of factors to consider before making a purchase. 

For something so expensive, you want to be sure that you’re getting the most for your money. So, before you commit to buying a gem, be sure to do your research. To start with it’s important to be aware that there are 4 C’s in diamond classification. One of them is clarity, and the other three C’s stand for carat, colour and cut. 

Each of the 4 C’s holds their own in terms of importance. We’ll just be focusing on clarity here, but be sure to research the others too. 

What exactly is ‘clarity’? 

When discussing the clarity of a diamond, you’re specifically talking about the number, size, type and location of imperfections on the gem. It’s important to note that most diamonds have some inclusions and blemishes but before you panic, there’s one key factor here that is often overlooked; not all imperfections are visible to the naked eye. 

If you want a diamond that is quite flawless, then they do exist, but are incredibly rare and will be categorised under ‘FL’ or ‘IF’ (Flawless or Internally Flawless). All other diamonds are split into other categories as per the severity of their imperfections. 

What are the clarity grades?

To fully understand the grades of diamond clarity, it’s important to know that diamonds are inspected under 10x magnification when they’re being graded. This should go some way to explain how a lot of these imperfections are not visible to the naked eye, yet applied to their clarity grade. 

The grades are as follows; VVS1 and 2 (very very slightly included), VS1 and 2 (very slightly included). These two groups of grades are just about detectable under 10x magnification, but you’ll have no chance of spotting them without the help of a microscope. Following these two groups there are SI1 and 2 (slightly included), these are easily seen under a microscope and you may have a chance of spotting them with your eyes too, depending on where they are. You can find more information about VVS diamonds online in this guide: https://yourdiamondguru.com/a-guide-to-vvs-diamonds/

 So, you can see why those lacking diamond knowledge might be inclined to instantly go for the higher clarity grade. But, all that means is that they’re paying a lot more money for a diamond that, to the naked eye, looks the same as their cheaper, lower graded counterparts. 

 It’s important to note that there are also lower grades such as I1, 2 and 3. These are the diamonds you’ll want to avoid as they have many imperfections which are visible to the naked eye.

 One final rumour that we thought we’d squash, is that the clarity of the diamond has very little impact on the sparkle of the gem. Another of the C’s, the cut, has much more to do with that. So, if its sparkles you want, the cut grade are the one you should be examining.

Categories: Fashion

About Author

Write a Comment